Gluten Free, Starburst

Gluten free food has no wheat

I have gluten intolerance. It can be difficult for people who have gluten intolerance or celiac disease to eat candy. Certain packaged candies contain wheat as an ingredient. Are Starburst and Skittles gluten free?

Starburst

Squares: colored shapes

Starburst candy is packaged in small, flattened cubes in paper. It contains saturated fat. The candy is marked as gluten free. It does not cause a reaction for a celiac-afflicted individual I know. I have no problems with it.

Starburst

Gluten-free
4/2012, USA

Candy, like Starburst, is not generally healthful. However, it may be a good choice of junk food. I think Starburst candies are a good choice for celiac patients and those with other forms of gluten intolerance.

The candies do not contain gluten of any kind. They are also fairly gentle on the digestive tract. They are not sour and won't damage your teeth if you have dental issues. I think Starburst candies are one of the best choices.

Note:Starburst is pure junk food and has no nutritional value.
However it also has no gluten.
This is a benefit.

One reader wrote in to ask me why Starburst causes him to have an upset stomach. David has celiac disease and thought Starburst would not bother him. My thoughts are that the acid in Starburst could cause problems.

Gummy Candy, Heartburn

Skittles

Note

Skittles are gluten-free. However they can still cause problems for your health. They can cause heartburn symptoms. Skittles use acid and citrus flavors. They carry many of the same problems as does orange juice and lemonade.

Skittles

Gluten-free
4/2012, USA

Gluten-free. Skittles are currently in the United States marked as a gluten-free food. This makes them a possible choice for a snack for people who have celiac disease or some form of gluten intolerance.

Dollar signs

Skittles are sold in red bags and have many fruit flavors, with orange, lemon, and lime flavors. For people who have celiac disease but not a severe heartburn or GERD problem, Skittles are a good choice for a candy to eat.

Tip:The ingredients of Skittles recently changed. In the United States, I started seeing new versions of Skittles available in 2011.

And:This new version contains no gelatin.
The old version contained gelatin.
This may affect some of us on special diets.

Sour Patch Kids

Strong and healthy: tips

Another popular gummy candy that is gluten-free is Sour Patch Kids. I reviewed the ingredients list of Sour Patch Kids and did not find any gluten-containing ingredients. Also, I have eaten Sour Patch Kids without any trouble.

However:They can cause heartburn if you eat too many of them or too fast. Also they are bad for your teeth.

Sour Patch Kids

Gluten-free
4/2012, USA

Twizzlers

Caution: exclamation mark

Twizzlers are a popular, sweet licorice-like candy. Sadly Twizzlers are not gluten-free. The ingredient list contains a wheat ingredient. Some kinds of gummy candy uses wheat to make the candy thicker and firmer to bite into.

But:For those of us with gluten intolerance, the candy can no longer be bitten into at all.

Twizzlers

Contains gluten
5/2012, USA

Story

I like to eat candy. I have some level of gluten intolerance. Skittles do not bother me because of gluten. Instead they bother me because they contain excessive acid, which triggers my heartburn response.

Note:Skittles may be a good candy for those who have celiac disease or gluten intolerance but not severe or common heartburn problems.

Heartburn. It is known that citrus foods are a problem for heartburn sufferers. Citrus triggers symptoms of GERD (gastroesophageal reflux disease). For this reason, Skittles are problematic for celiac patients who have heartburn.

Lemonade, Heartburn

Summary

Starburst is gluten free and a good choice for those with digestive problems. It is not as harmful as other kinds of junk food because of its lack of gluten. And Skittles too is marked as gluten-free.

Review:Skittles are a good candy for some with digestive problems. They are trouble for those who have more than one problem.


Heartburn: Candy